When you shouldn’t listen to nutritionists in the New York Times article

Maybe it was my love of pretty graphs, maybe it was the fact that 25% of “nutritionists” called pizza healthy, maybe butter needed to be defended. The itch was too strong: Must. Restore. Order.

The New York Times recently published an article comparing the “healthiness” of 50 common foods, as rated both by a panel of nutritionists and a representative sample of the US population. The results demonstrate that the average American believes sugary foods (like granola bars) are healthier than nutritionists rate them to be. So far, so unsurprising.

Big Food: 1                      Healthy Eating: 0

granola

As I kept reading the article, things went from making perfect sense to perplexing me more and more. Then, it got really icky.

The panel of experts consisted of 672 nutritionists -all part of the American Society for Nutrition, and mostly academics. For what happened next, I blame an anomaly in the spacetime continuum (I can’t think of another explanation):

25% of these the nutritionists rated pizza as healthy, and 12% rated ice cream as healthy.
200_s

Still in shock, I decided to make my own comparison graph. I present to you the ratings of the NYT panel of nutritionists (data here) vs. my own view of what constitutes a healthy diet.

Let’s dig in, shall we?
0
Continue Reading →